Get a dog and tone up fast!

I would like to share a suggestion that I have found especially true in my own life with all of you. If you are trying to get into the best shape of your life, get a dog. Get a rowdy big dog who loves to go for walks and runs and chase things. The type that will not give it a rest when you get home until you go throw a ball for him. A dog that jumps all over you and leaps into your lap without warning.

Without even thinking about it, you’ll take thousands of extra steps each day just to care for your dog. I really felt how true this was recently when walking my black lab Deuce. He was tugging on the leash and as I twisted to tug him back, I felt my core light up. I was already really sore from a tough abs workout, so I was overly aware of those muscle tensing and releasing. Walking your dog is good cardio and great for balance – especially if he likes to try to pull you all over the place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I often think that my dog is more of an athlete than I am – which is saying something. He runs and runs and chases and chases and fetches and fetches and only stops for water when I make him. He makes sure that I don’t sit down for more than 30 minutes when I’m at my house. As soon as I get in the door, he’s constantly begging to be played with and petted.

I am always looking for ways to make working out fun – both for me and for my clients. Getting a dog or spending more time playing with the dog you have could help you burn an extra couple of calories per day – plus you’ll have a lot of fun doing it! If you don’t have a dog or the ability to get one, ask a neighbor whose dog seems especially energetic if you can take it for a walk – the dog wins, your neighbor wins, but of course most importantly when getting active with a dog, your health wins.

 

Leave a Reply

