Farewell Puerto Rico

A full week in Puerto Rico with my friend Shirin resulted in many active adventures, very little sleep, and tons of beautiful photos. Also a whole lot of blog posts to recount everything as you may have noticed. Puerto Rico is an active person’s paradise because of the variety of water sports, hiking, and walking. In my last few blog posts, I’ve written about walking all over downtown San Juan, kayaking in the bioluminescent bay, walking on the beach, snorkeling in the sun, and hiking in the rainforest. On my last morning in Puerto Rico, Shirin and I headed to the Laguna del Condado to go stand up paddle boarding.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have done SUP a few times before so I knew a little bit of what to expect… A great upper body and core workout! The lagoon was the perfect place to go as well because of the calm waters and the city scenery all around. We made a couple of rounds circling the perimeter of the lagoon for about an hour, then headed back to the apartment to collect my things and head to the airport. It was nice to get a little movement in that morning before heading to the airport for a long flight back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The highlights of my trip to Puerto Rico were definitely all of those outdoor activities which allowed me to enjoy the gorgeous diversity of the island. Within a few hours of the large city of San Juan, you can discover the greenery of the rainforest or the rolling hills in the center of the island. Or you can head to the beach or take a ferry to the tropical paradise of Culebra. Puerto Rico is a great destination for anyone who loves the outdoors and enjoys exercising via all sorts of water sports. A car is a must to get to all of these different day trips.

If I return to Puerto Rico, I would love to spend more time hiking higher up in the rainforest and take a trip to the other side of the island which is less touristy and more authentic. There are many humanitarian aid mission trips to the center of the island to help the many low income communities located throughout the mountains which would be rewarding as well. Since returning from Puerto Rico I have started experimenting with various plantain dishes but none of them ever taste quite as good or authentic as the ones I had while there. One of the biggest advantages for American tourists traveling to Puerto Rico is that a passport is not required to visit and discover a culture very different from the mainland United States.

If you are considering a trip to Puerto Rico, don’t hesitate to contact me in the comments below for ideas & suggestions!

For any and all travelers, sign up for updates from me & I will send you a copy of my top 10 tips for staying active while on vacation. Next up on the blog I will be sharing how my boyfriend, Joey, and I explored the city of Memphis, Tennessee!

Leave a Reply

